The palace was built on the site of an old Valdstejn family stronghold in the latter half of the 16th century whose central Renaissance part has been preserved despite several reconstructions, the last being in 1895. There were many landlords over the centuries, the most well-known of them being the Harant family of Polzice and Bezdruzice and the counts of Harrach. Since 1953 this protected monument has been used for numerous interesting exhibitions of the Krkonosske Museum.
The interior exhibition in the palace presents the life of Jan Nepomuk, Count of Harrach, who made a major contribution to the development of Czech culture, economy and politics, and also to the popularity of the Krkonose, and visitors can also see Jan’s study, bedroom, dining room, salon and ladies’ lounge, parlour and hallway.
The Crafts Market in the adjacent former brewery features the production of handmade and craft products of traditional rural or historical characters such as tinkers, basket-makers, production of jewellery, decorations, wooded artworks, etc. You can buy products here to treat yourself or someone else.